Biography

Damien Nicolas Roux lives and works in Paris and Southern Burgundy. Self-taught, born of an architect-painter father and a mother trained in the fine arts, Damien Nicolas Roux draws, paints and cuts.

With a taste for line and construction, the use of architectural elements, frequent references to antiquity, the strong influence of decorative arts, a few detours through modern and contemporary art and a major role given to colour in all his compositions, his work is impregnated with his family’s visual heritage.

 

Techniques

The techniques he uses range from graphic design  (fine point pen, alcohol felt pen on bristol card),  an activity he used to practice, through acrylic paint – in pop colours and laid thick on cardboard – to the more traditional use of watercolour on Arche paper, but always with flat areas of colour and a clean rendering. A graphic language reminiscent of the Belgium ‘Ligne Claire’ movement.

The gallery's
opinion

In his “Room portraits” Damien Nicolas Roux invites us into fantasized but possible interiors. Masterpieces imagined in the sublime flats of aesthetic collectors. As a smart scenographer, Damien Nicolas Roux invents an ideal setting, builds a prestigious decor that would sublimate one exceptional painting. A seductive work that mixes references to painting, architecture and decorative arts.

(Photo credit DNR portrait : Lora Barra)

Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Josef Albers & the Grey Cat" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."René Magritte & the perched cat" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Victor Vasarely & the runaway fish" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Mark Rothko & the outstretched hands" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Piet Mondrian & the music-moving dog" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Lucio Fontana & the Velvet Glove" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Jean Cocteau & the legs in the air" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Pablo Picasso & the Parakeet" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Damien Hirst & the Emerging Artist" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Andy Warhol & the French Bulldog" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Pierre Soulages & the nurturing hand" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Sold

Who loves color, art and design, will undoubtedly love the drawings of Damien Nicolas Roux."Mark Rothko & the outstretched hands" from the series "Room portraits" also has the didactic virtue of presenting an artist and one of his paintings

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00

Biographie de Damien Nicolas Roux

Il vit et travaille à Paris et en Bourgogne du Sud. Autodidacte, né d’un père architecte – artiste peintre et d’une mère formée aux beaux-arts, Damien Nicolas Roux dessine, peint et découpe.

Avec comme fil conducteur le goût du tracé et de la construction, l’utilisation d’éléments architecturaux, des références fréquentes à l’Antiquité, l’influence forte des arts décoratifs, quelques détours par l’art moderne et contemporain et un rôle majeur donné à la couleur dans toutes ses compositions, son œuvre est imprégnée de l’héritage visuel familial.

 

Techniques

Les techniques utilisées sont celles du graphisme (stylo à pointe fine, feutre à l’alcool sur bristol), activité qu’il exerça jadis. DNR travaille aussi l’acrylique – pop et épaisse sur carton – ainsi que l’aquarelle sur papier Arches. Quelle que soit la technique, il privilégie toujours les aplats de couleurs et un rendu net. Un langage graphique non sans rappeler le mouvement la Ligne Claire.

L'avis de
la galerie

Dans sa série « Room portraits », Damien Nicolas Roux nous invite dans des intérieurs fantasmés mais possibles : des tableaux de maîtres imaginés dans les sublimes appartements de collectionneurs esthètes. En scénographe avisé, Damien Nicolas Roux invente un écrin idéal, construit un décor prestigieux qui sublimerait la toile exceptionnelle. Un travail séduisant qui mixe les références à la peinture, à l’architecture et aux arts décoratifs.

(Crédits photo portrait DNR : Lora Barra)

Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."René Magritte & le chat perché" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

"Kasimir Malévitch & le chien" nous présente un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00

"Josef Albers & le chien" nous présente un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00

"Lucio Fontana & les trois chiens" nous présente un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00

"Damien Hirst & le chat" présente un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00

"Andy Warhol & les moutons de Lalanne" nous présente un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Andy Warhol & la femme confinée" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Basquiat & le camion rouge" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00

"Henri Matisse & le lapin" présente un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Victor Vasarely & le poisson fugueur" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Damien Hirst & l'artiste en devenir" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Toulouse Lautrec & le chien assis" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Pablo Picasso & la perruche" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Victor Vasarely & le poisson fugueur" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Pablo Picasso & le persan contemplatif" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Piet Mondrian & le chien mélomane" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Pierre Soulages & la main nourricière" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Lucio Fontana & le gant de velours" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Jean Cocteau & les jambes en l'air" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Yves Klein & la tourterelle narcissique" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Josef Albers & le chat gris" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00

"Joan Miró & le canari" nous présente un artiste et un de ses tableaux...

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Mark Rothko & les mains tendues" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Keith Haring et le rituel du Marathonien" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00

"Pablo Picasso & le chat" nous présente un artiste et un de ses tableaux...

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
400.00
Vendu

Qui aime la couleur, l'art et le design, aimera sans aucun doute les dessins de Damien Nicolas Roux."Fernand Léger & l'absence du dog sitter" issu de la série "Room portraits" a aussi pour vertu didactique de nous présenter un artiste et l'un de ses tableaux.

Damien Nicolas Roux - DNR
300.00