Biography of Éric Robin

This contemporary artist lives and works in Provence. He was immersed in the world of art and painting at a very young age thanks to an uncle who was a painter and who introduced him to oil painting and gave him a taste for artistic creation. His professional activities have always been linked to the art of staging and decor. But it is rather late that Éric Robin begins to elaborate an abstract work whose key words are transparency, vibration and light. 

His various artistic explorations are part of the lyrical abstraction movement. He particularly admires the work of the Franco-Chinese painter Zao Wou-Ki and his brilliant and flamboyant work.

Techniques

Eric Robin’s artistic approaches first explored the techniques of oxidation with copper leaf that he perfected over the years. More recently, he uses paper to sublimate it in unique three-dimensional works. He sometimes uses a holographic quality paper for its iridescent effect. Or a more neutral and carefully prepared paper: gold leaf, oxidized and/or painted. He cuts, folds and crumples with precise gestures. He glues in layers, creating a composition in relief full of subtlety, where the play of shadows accentuates the contrasts. It is in the vibrancy of the textures that one recognizes the formal signature of the artist.

The finish of Eric Robin’s small paintings is a matte black box that he closes with an optical glass to avoid annoying reflections.

The gallery's
opinion

We love Éric Robin’s boxes that accentuate the precious effect of his crumpled papers. The duality between the crumpled paper and the impeccable final composition is particularly striking. As in a case the paper becomes a jewel. It can be displayed on the wall or on a stand, in solo or in diptych, and above all, one should look for a maximum of light to take advantage of the iridescent spectrum of his holographic paper. No risk of embarrassing reflections, the optical glass is there…to be forgotten! And if you choose the velvet of a crumpled matte paper, same advice, the light and the location will be the best friends of this unusual object.

SB3, "Small Box 3", a three-dimensional blue and gold painting.

Éric Robin
300.00
Sold

"SB7", a three-dimensional iridescent artwork.

Éric Robin
300.00

SB2, a three-dimensional ultramarine blue and gold painting.

Éric Robin
300.00

"SB6", a three-dimensional iridescent artwork.

Éric Robin
300.00

SB1, a three-dimensional ultramarine blue and gold painting.

Éric Robin
300.00

SB5, a three-dimensional iridescent artwork.

Éric Robin
300.00

"SB4", a three-dimensional iridescent artwork.

Éric Robin
300.00

Biographie d’Éric Robin

Cet artiste contemporain vit et travaille en Provence. Il baigne très jeune dans le monde de l’art et de la peinture grâce à un oncle artiste peintre qui l’initie à la peinture à l’huile et lui donne le goût pour la création artistique. Ses activités professionnelles ont toujours un lien avec l’art de la mise en scène et le décor. Mais c’est assez tardivement qu’Éric Robin commence à élaborer une œuvre abstraite dont les maîtres mots sont la transparence, la vibration et la lumière. 

Ses différentes explorations artistiques s’inscrivent dans le mouvement de l’abstraction lyrique. Il admire tout particulièrement la travail du peintre franco-chinois Zao Wou-Ki et son œuvre éclatante et flamboyante

Techniques

Les démarches artistiques d’Éric Robin explorent tout d’abord les techniques d’oxydation à la feuille de cuivre qu’il perfectionne au fil des années. Plus récemment il exploite le papier pour le sublimer dans des œuvres tridimensionnelles uniques. Il utilise tantôt un papier de qualité holographique pour son effet iridescent. Ou bien un papier plus neutre et soigneusement préparé : doré à la feuille, oxydé et/ou peint. Il découpe, plie et froisse avec des gestes précis. Il colle en strates, créant une composition en relief pleine de subtilité, dont les jeux d’ombre accentuent les contrastes. C’est à la vibrance des textures qu’on reconnait la signature formelle de l’artiste.

La finition des petits tableaux d’Éric Robin est une boite noire mate qu’il ferme d’un verre optique pour éviter les reflets gênants.

L'avis de
la galerie

On aime les boites d’Éric Robin qui accentuent l’effet précieux de ses papiers froissés. La dualité entre le papier froissé et la composition finale impeccable est particulièrement saisissante. Comme dans un écrin le papier se fait bijou. On l’expose posé ou au mur, en solo ou en diptyque, et surtout on recherche un maximum de lumière pour profiter de tout le spectre iridescent de son papier holographique. Pas de risque de reflet gênant, le verre optique est là…pour se faire oublier ! Et si l’on choisit le velouté d’un papier froissé mat, même conseil, la lumière et l’emplacement valorisant seront les meilleurs amis de cet objet hors norme.

"Petite boîte 2", un tableau tridimensionnel bleu outremer

Éric Robin
300.00

"Petite boîte 1", un tableau tridimensionnel bleu outremer et or.

Éric Robin
300.00

"Petite boîte 5", un tableau tridimensionnel iridescent.

Éric Robin
300.00

"Petite boîte 6", un tableau tridimensionnel iridescent.

Éric Robin
300.00

"Over Sea" un tableau tridimensionnel bleu outremer et or., pour rêver d'ailleurs...

Éric Robin
2,700.00

"Petite boîte 4", un tableau tridimensionnel iridescent.

Éric Robin
300.00
Vendu

"Petite boîte 7", un tableau tridimensionnel iridescent.

Éric Robin
300.00

"Petite boîte 3", un tableau tridimensionnel bleu et or.

Éric Robin
300.00