Biography

Guy Denning was born in 1965 in Bristol-UK and started painting with oil at the age of 11. He is a painter and a street artist. Refused on many occasions at the Schools of Fine Arts, he is a self-taught painter and obtained a degree in art history from « The Open University ». To provide for his family, he practiced various professions while continuing to paint. In 2007, exasperated by the politics of his country and being an English « subject » rather than a « citizen », he moved to France, in Brittany, and devoted himself entirely to painting.

His work is constantly evolving between tradition and modernity, he has developed a figurative style which is very committed to represent social issues, and adds his « punk » touch to his universe where political rhetoric and fantasy mix.

 

Techniques

The instinctive, visceral character, of Guy Denning’s pieces reflect the fact that he works every day and the media he chooses vary according to circumstances and mood: painting or drawing, canvas or paper, newspaper or walls, handwriting, stencilled text, collage… He occasionally participates in significant street art events.

The gallery's
opinion

Despite the difficulties encountered, Guy Denning is already well known in Europe and the United States where he regularly exhibits and meets a public of urban art lovers and collectors. His work, particularly his portraits, emanate a powerful expressiveness with a punk inspiration but also technical references to classic great masters such as Rembrandt, Goya, Schiele, Bacon or Kollwitz.

A powerful and emotional work.

Guy Denning
300.00

A dynamic composition for a body in motion.

Guy Denning
990.00

Biographie de Guy Denning

Guy Denning est un peintre et street artiste britannique. Il a commencé à peindre à l’huile à l’âge de 11 ans. Refusé à plusieurs reprises aux écoles de Beaux-Arts, il apprend la peinture de façon autodidacte. Il obtient un diplôme d’histoire de l’art de l’Open University. Pour subvenir aux besoins de sa famille, il exerce des professions diverses tout en continuant à peindre. En 2007, exaspéré par la politique de son pays et d’être « sujet » anglais plutôt que « citoyen », il s’installe en Bretagne et se consacre entièrement à la peinture.

Faisant sans cesse évoluer son travail entre tradition et modernité, il développe un style figuratif très engagé pour représenter des sujets de société. Il ajoute sa touche « punk » à son univers où se mélangent discours politiques et chimères.

 

Techniques

Le caractère instinctif, voire viscéral, des œuvres de Guy Denning tient au fait qu’il travaille tous les jours. Les supports varient en fonction des circonstances ou de son humeur : peinture ou dessin, toile ou papier, journal ou murs, écriture manuelle, au pochoir, collage… Il participe ponctuellement à des événements street art d’envergure.

L'avis de
la galerie

Guy Denning jouit déjà d’une belle notoriété en Europe et aux Etats-Unis où il expose régulièrement et rencontre un public d’amateurs et de collectionneurs d’art urbain. De ses portraits émane une expressivité puissante, d’inspiration punk mais aussi de grands maîtres classiques tels Rembrandt, Goya, Schiele, Bacon ou Kollwitz.

Une composition dynamique pour un corps en mouvement.

Guy Denning
990.00

Une œuvre forte qui suscite l'émotion

Guy Denning
300.00